Dates

Dates are a big deal in Qatar, and I imagine in most of the Gulf States. They are served with Arabic coffee as a sign of hospitality.


They are also eaten with a glass of water to break each day’s fast during Ramadan.  Here are some photos – before and after, really.


One store in Doha with exceptional dates is “Bateel”. They carry different varieties, and also discuss their health benefits on their website.

I also wanted to share the page on dates from the exceptional book on Souq Waqif that I bought as my main Doha souvenir (published by a company called “Architecture Beauty Culture Design“.

2 responses to “Dates

  1. the date pastries on the Bateel website look equally scrumptious!

  2. I went to Bateel in Saudi. So lovely! I am so, so excited for dates when I get back!

Leave a Reply

